The Grand Ridge PTSA recognizes volunteers, educators and community members who go above and beyond for the sake of our kids through the Golden Acorn, Outstanding Educator, and Outstanding Advocate awards for the previous year (January - December 2019).  



The Golden Acorn Award recognizes people who have given exemplary volunteer service to children and youth in our school and community. The Golden Acorn Award is very special and is given for continued and dedicated service.


The Outstanding Educator Award  recognizes individuals who have provided outstanding educational opportunities for children and youth that are beyond the normal scope of their jobs. An educator can be, but is not limited to, a teacher and can include specialists, support staff, administrators, or community members.


The Outstanding Advocate Award honors an individual for a demonstrated commitment to helping create strong policies relating to the health, welfare, safety, and education of our children. Volunteers who speak up for students, or who try to change things for the benefit of children are considered advocates. Nominees for this award could be a general or specialist teacher, an assistant, administrator, other school or district staff, or a community member.

Nathalie Isensee has been awarded the Grand Ridge PTSA 2019 Golden Acorn Award!

Nathalie has been a Grand Ridge PTSA volunteer since her daughter Jacqueline was a Kindergartener the year our school opened.  Nathalie and her husband Michael also have sons Niclas and Christian and are active in the Highlands Community.  Over the last 13 years, Nathalie has volunteered countless hours at Grand Ridge.  She served on the PTSA Board as Volunteers Co-Coordinator, Staff Appreciation Chair, Summerfest Chair, and she coordinates school picture days every year. Nathalie has spent many years as a room parent, volunteering within the classroom, assisting with the Art Docent program, and sharing her South African heritage at the school Cultural Fair.  With her youngest son moving on to middle school, Nathalie’s helpful spirit and warm smile will be missed at Grand Ridge.


Molly Banskon has been awarded the Grand Ridge PTSA Outstanding Educator Award!

Molly Bankson teaches 1st grade at Grand Ridge and was born and raised within the Issaquah School District.  She has become a leader within the school and on the district level testing out new science curriculum and experimenting in co-teaching a more inclusive learning model.  Ms. Bankson has been awarded Issaquah Schools Foundation grants for coding bots in 2019 and wiggle stools in 2020.  She has been a leader at the school’s Family Engineering Night program.  As a teacher, she presents a structured classroom style while encouraging imagination and school spirit among her students.  Grand Ridge PTSA is proud to recognize Molly Bankson as an Outstanding Educator.  


Lindsey de Haan has been awarded the Grand Ridge PTSA Outstanding Educator Award!

Lindsey de Haan is in her second year at Grand Ridge but previously taught at Discovery Elementary in the Issaquah School District.  She is a Central Washington University alumni and obtained her Master’s Degree while working in the Seattle School District.  Ms. de Haan was inspired to “become a teacher and invest in the next generation”.  She loves working with 1st graders and watching how a class can become a school family over the course of a school year.  She explained, “Teaching is my avenue to reach children to help them know their worth and capabilities, while getting to celebrate alongside them!”  Grand Ridge PTSA is proud to recognize Lindsey de Haan as an Outstanding Educator.

Past Winners:


Golden Acorn Award

Year Recipient(s)
2019-20 Nathalie Isensee
2018-19 Angela Bizzari & Aline Bloch
2017-18 Alicia Spinner & Joanne Mockford
2016-17 Lisa Kim
2015-16 Anne Taylor, Alicia Spinner & Angela Bizzari
2014-15 Danielle Graham, Alisa George & Michele Brode
2013-14 Lisa Callan
2012-13 Carolyn Kennedy
2011-12 Lida Buckner
2010-11 Theora Dalupan, Kristen Wisdom & Nancy Castonguay
2009-10 Theora Dalupan, Lida Buckner & Cyn Baumert
2008-09 Leslie Warrick, Lida Buckner & Cyn Baumert
2007-08 Audrey Winslow, Tina Ko & Theora Dalupan
2006-07 Audrey Winslow, Julie Siefkes, Stephanie Shipley, Celia Shells, Debbie Rossman, Donna McCloud, Robbin Hodder, Karen Hirsch, Erica Davis, Theora Dalupan, Deb Courage & Cyn Baumert


Outstanding Educator Award

Year Recipient(s)
2019-20 Molly Bankson & Lindsey de Haan
2018-19 Sanjana Pathak

Kim Goodman

2016-17 Jennifer Houghton & Brandy Falk
2015-16 Wendy Marsh & Connie Face
2014-15 Allison King
2013-14 Alice Badgley
2012-13 Darrel Nichols
2011-12 Anne Douglas
2010-11 Maureen Bacon
2009-10 Lauren Dammers
2008-09 Kris Coleman
2007-08 Becky Rapin & Connie Face
2006-07 Lori Bunstead & Barb Walton


Outstanding Advocate Award


Year Recipient(s)
2019-20 none
2018-19 Alicia Spinner
2017-18 Justin Oppelar
2016-17 Tim Ryan
2015-16 Carrie Mount
2014-15 Pam Cabrera
2013-14 Christy Otley
2012-13 Leslie Warrick
2011-12 Leslie Warrick
2010-11 Leslie Warrick





First time visiting our website? Welcome!  Click here to get started.

New to our school?  Check out our New Families page!

Sign up to receive E-News so you never miss an update from the District or Grand Ridge!

Our Mission

To create and foster opportunities that enrich and support our children, school, and community.

Upcoming Events

All PTSA events are subject to COVID-19 guidelines and ISD approvals.  Check back here for the latest information near the event date.  

Full Calendar

Stay Connected

Download Our App